OFFICERS 2016-2018

DEAN C. LOGAN PRESIDENT Los Angeles County SUSAN M. RANOCHAK VICE PRESIDENT Mendocino County JOE HOLLAND TREASURER Santa Barbara County

BRANDI L. ORTH SECRETARY Fresno County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County JOE CANCIAMILLA Contra Costa County KAMMI FOOTE Inyo County MARK LUNN Ventura County RYAN RONCO Placer County MICHAEL SCARPELLO San Bernardino County

MICHAEL VU San Diego County DAWN ABRAHAMSON* Vallejo City Clerk * non-voting member

ADVISORY COUNCIL:

REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County GAIL L. PELLERIN Santa Cruz County

CATHY DARLING ALLEN Shasta County NEAL KELLEY Orange County

ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:

JULIE BUSTAMANTE Nothern Area Lassen County REBECCA SPENCER Southern Area Riverside County DONNA JOHNSTON Mother Lode Area Sutter County TOMMY GONG Central Area San Luis Obispo County CLAUDIO VALENZUELA Bay Area Monterey County

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES **voting member

CLERK OF THE BOARD: JOHN MCKIBBEN**

Los Angeles County

COUNTY CLERK:

DONNA ALLRED** Sacramento County

VICTORIA RODRIGUEZ Riverside County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE** Sacramento County TRICIA WEBBER Santa Cruz County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

DEAN C. LOGAN, PRESIDENT Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk 12400 Imperial Highway, Suite 7001, Norwalk, CA 90650 (562) 462-2716 – Fax (562) 929-4790 E-Mail: <u>DLogan@rrcc.lacounty.gov</u> CACEO website: <u>www.caceo58.org</u>

April 18, 2017

The Honorable Marc Berman, Chair Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting The Honorable Ian Calderon The Honorable Evan Low The Honorable Kevin Mullin The Honorable Shirley Weber State Capitol Building, Room 6011 Sacramento, CA 95814

Dear Assembly Member Berman and Members of the Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting:

The California Association of Clerks and Election Officials Elections Legislative Committee is pleased to support **AB 1729**, your proposed legislation which would place a retention date on petitions that have been examined for some reason by the proponents or others.

Current law states that petitions have an eight month retention period for petitions that either appear before the voters for approval, or do not qualify for an election. However, if the petition is involved in a legal examination or investigation, the law is ambiguous as to how long those petitions need to be retained following the completion of the examination/investigation.

Your proposal places actual time frames on how long these petitions are to be retained giving counties the needed guidance as to when they can destroy petitions. It also ensures that all 58 counties are performing the same retention practice.

In Elections Code 17200(a), the retention period is eight months. However in Elections Code 17200(b) (3) the retention period is one year. We would recommend making those timeframes the same, changing the eight months to one year as well.

If you or your staff have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at <u>tricia.webber@santacruzcounty.us</u> or (831) 454-2409, or Jill LaVine, Sacramento County Registrar of Voters at <u>lavinej@saccounty.net</u> or (916) 875-6060.

Respectfully,

ficiallepper

Tricia Webber

Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

cc: Ethan Jones, Chief Consultant, Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting Daryl Thomas, Consultant, Assembly Republican Office of Policy Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates, Inc. Nick Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates, Inc. Silvio Ferrari, Sacramento Advocates, Inc. Jill LaVine, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee